Do you consume oat drink, soy yoghurt, or other dairy alternatives?
EU parliament is attempting to ban any terms, marketing, or even appearance of vegan products that are associated to milk or dairy. This includes the terms "yoghurt" style, similar packaging in cartons or yoghurt cups, or even the comparison with milk's climate impact.

While this dairy-lobby-driven amendment is already through parliament, there's a petition to stop it in council.

@schmittlauch Milk is an animal product. We should stop accepting incorrect advertising just because that favors marketing.
This is a great thing in my opinion.
Advertising a plant product as dairy free is substantially misinformation and it damages the consumers as it implies that other plant based products do contain dairy.


@rastinza Well, a white liquid plant product that is *not* called milk and does not contain any is – in fact – dairy-free, so where's the misleading part?

Furthermore, I'd like to point to the more liquid variant of coconut cream, which is still allowed to be called "coconut milk".

@schmittlauch Coconut milk has been called like that for centuries it's substantially its name now.Advertising in that way is misleading. If I advertise my cabbage as grown without pig blood fertilizer I'm implying that other cabbages are grown that way, even if nobody uses pig blood as fertilizer.If a Muslim is offered my cabbage and an identical one without such an advertisement he will likely choose mine, as he is sure it does not contain pig. I'm misleading him into avoiding the competition.

@rastinza Soy milk has been called like that for centuries, just not in western Europe – as well as coconut milk.
Several kinds of cheese are labelled as lactose-free, which is misleading because most kinds do not contain a relevant amount of lactose anyways.
You might say that different kinds of cheese look similar enough to be mixed up. The same is true for white liquid beverages. For cheese, labeling is okay to prevent mixups, but for beverages the solution shall be different packaging – why?

@schmittlauch This is an European rule, made to be applied in Europe. European culture and its people understanding is very important in this.
I would never consider soy milk as milk but as a plant product, just like most Europeans would.
No plant product contains dairy.
With cheese that's quite different; all cheese comes from milk and the general production process is similar. You have no other way of knowing whether it contains lactose or not.

Sign in to participate in the conversation

The social network of the future: No ads, no corporate surveillance, ethical design, and decentralization! Own your data with Mastodon!